abublitz is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2003

Unique sequential ID #

Hello everyone,

I am working on a database for my company for complaints. This is my first time working with access. I've been trying, and failing to find a good way to create a unique, sequential ID# for the complaint records. I've done a bunch of googling but haven't really found an answer I can understand, or one that will work for what I want it to do. If anyone could assist me in figuring this out, I would greatly appreciate it.

I've included a copy of my database, it's not quite done yet but you will get the idea. On my Complaint form, I want the unique, sequential ID# to auto populate in the Complaint# text box. The box has enabled set to No so users are unable to edit it. The number format needs to be Cyy-XXXX, where yy is the current year and xxxx is the auto number. For example, C16-0001. I've tried to do this with access built in auto number and a prefix for the Cyy but that didn't really give me what I needed. The YY wouldn't roll over to 17 in the new year and it wasn't overly friendly in my search box I added either.

I realize that it's pretty for there to be gaps in a sequence in access. My plan to offset that is to make it so records cannot be deleted (is that possible?) and to incorporate a void checkbox. So that unused records are there, but easily filtered out in reports.

Does anyone have any ideas for how I can code this? (Also, I am using access 2003)

Have issues getting the uploader to work... https://www.dropbox.com/s/u4cjjsrtxa...0Copy.mdb?dl=0

CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    My plan to offset that is to make it so records cannot be deleted (is that possible?)