evander is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 Access 2003

Master list table with changing values.

Hey guys. I wanna ask the pros around here what they think about my design. It's about master lists that contain columns of data that may change over time. Let me describe my problem:

I have a master table called tbmInventory. It's got the following fields.
    -InventoryID (PK, Text)
    -InventoryName (Text
    )

I have another master table called tbmInventoryPrice that will account for price changes that are specific to each InventoryID. It's got the following fields.
    -InventoryID (Compound PK, Text, FK related to tbmInventory)
    -DateID (Compound PK, Date/Time)
    -InventoryPrice

I have a transaction table called tbtInventory. It's got the following fields (This table is actually normalized into a header transaction table and a detail transaction table, but I think we can omit this fact for this thread).
    -TransactionID
    -TransactionDate
    -InventoryID (FK related to tbmInventory, not related to tbmInventoryPrice)
    -InventoryPrice

My current approach to applying the correct price for a particular InventoryID based on TransactionDate is:
    a. Encode values in TransactionDate and InventoryID in the tbtInventory's form.
    b. A Form_AfterInsert event fires.
    c. In the Form_AfterInsert event, I placed a code that will lookup the price of the InventoryID in the tbmInventoryPrice table. The code should find the correct price for the date that is closest to the transaction's date.