MWhitfield is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Absolutely bizarre query issue

So I'm relatively new to Access; I'd never used it before about two weeks ago. Nevertheless, I've spent a lot of time with it in those two weeks and I think I've got a pretty good hold on things. Every problem I've encountered in building my database so far (and there have been a lot, obviously), I've managed to solve through a combination of Google and help docs, but this latest one is so perplexing I'm turning to you guys.

So, I have an inventory database for a chemical laboratory. There are only three tables: Chemical Index (info for each type of chemical in the inventory), Transactions (log of all transactions -- receiving, check in, return, discard, etc), and Inventory (the actual list of items, with storage location, current status, lot number, etc.)

I have a form called Browse Inventory, which basically just contains three listboxes: InventoryList, which is just what it sounds like, and ManufacturerList and ProductList, which are set up as "filter panes" like you'd see in a media player, filtering the contents of InventoryList based on the manufacturer and product name selected in each (ManufacturerList also filters ProductList).

Now, getting that whole filter pane setup going was quite a trick to start with, but I managed to get it perfect. Today, I was trying to cut down on the number of objects by incorporating some of the queries involved in that setup and just embedding the SQL in the controls themselves. What I have now is this:

ManufacturerList row source:

Code:
    SELECT [Chemical Index].Manufacturer, Count([Chemical Index].[Chemical Name / Encapsulant ID]) 
    AS [CountOfChemical Name / Encapsulant ID] 
    FROM [Chemical Index] 
    GROUP BY [Chemical Index].Manufacturer 
    UNION Select Null as AllChoice , "(All)" as Bogus From [Chemical Index];
    ProductList row source:

Code: