tbutters is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Hyperlink to a specific Field/Cell?

Hi All, I'm a complete newb to Access, and I'm putting together a DB to organize a number of scientific journals and some key information therein.

I basically have 4 tables: one for each of three types of article. Each of these tables will contain the relevant data from the papers. The fourth table has summaries of each paper.

I've linked each summary to the relevant pdf. Now, I want to do two things, which I'm hoping are relatively basic: I want each data point to link to the appropriate summary in the 4th table. I also want to be able to manipulate the data in the first three tables for graphs, charts, etc. Can Access read the text of a field defined as a hyperlink as a numeric value? (I hope!) Or, can a field hold both a link and a value? If not, I can duplicate these tables; one with the data and the other with the links, but would obviously prefer to keep it to the 4 tables.

It does not need to expand beyond this scope; but more journals will likely be added.

Any ideas?

Thanks for any advice you can give me!

kimmer is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Quote Originally Posted by tbutters View Post
    I want each data point to link to the appropriate summary in the 4th table.
    what data points?

Windows XP Access 2007
    The three main tables have data charted for different timepoints and different stains, e.g:

15 m 30 m 45 m 1 hr 2 hr . . .
    A x y z
    B w s d
    C f g h
    D j k

Each lower case letter would be a numeric value. I want to have these hyperlink to a specific row in the 4th table, which would be the summary of the paper the values are taken from. I also want the numbers to be calculated, but I'm not sure if that's possible with a hyperlink field type.
    I hope that is a bit clearer. Thanks!

sorry, not clearer. Is the illustration with the upper and lower case letters a table or a graph?