DKF is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Forms - Saving to 2 Tables and Printing Issues

Hi. I am new to IT, database development and Access. Please be kind...

I have created an employee data form to update information (called actions) like personal changes, employment changes, etc. On this form I need a Save button and a Print button.

With the Save button - I want 2 things to happen - when the save is hit the employee table is updated with the change AND I would also like the info saved onto another table that will keep a running list of every "action" entered & notes/comments. That way I can generate a report to see the history of a single person. My test updated the employee table - but not my 2nd table.

With the Print button - (I know printing is preferred for reports) - but in this case there are times employee actions require a director's signature - I want to be able to print out the form.
    How do you set it so only the 1 page form prints? I printed my form and 6 pages came out - a header page, part of the form - cut off, and 4 other. I set up the form to be 8.5 by 11 - and am now thinking you can't to that b/c it is wider than the pre-set margins. I tried to adjust margins but it would not stay.

Any suggestions on these 2 issues?

Hi DKF,
    Hi. I am new to IT, database development and Access. Please be kind

I'm going to try and be kind here

Quote Originally Posted by DKF View Post

With the Save button - I want 2 things to happen - when the save is hit the employee table is updated with the change AND I would also like the info saved onto another table that will keep a running list of every "action" entered & notes/comments. That way I can generate a report to see the history of a single person. My test updated the employee table - but not my 2nd table.
    There is almost never a good reason to duplicate a table or data ever.