edmscan is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 8 Access 2010 32bit

Issues with updating Excel chart based on Access Data and subsequent embedded chart on Access form

Ok .. first I have never done this before. But .. I really like the potential so I am doing this in Access and Excel.

But .. I am having issues with the data being refreshed. The reason I use Excel is that I cannot get Access to do at all close to the things I can do in Excel with regards to the charts.

Original data is from an Access query. (Access 2010)
    I have created Excel chart based on above access data. That part is fine.
    I then have an unbound object frame with the Excel chart (Excel 2010) above on an Access form. (the Access data and Access form is in the same database).

So .. how do I make it so that the Chart in the Access form is updated whenever the data in Access is updated ?

I imagine I need to update the data in Excel first and then update the Excel chart on the Access form update based on the changed Excel chart.

I am fine with using a command button to force a refresh of the data ... and subsequent chart.

Kevin

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Is the Excel chart a pivot?

I have never tried to embed Excel chart.

If you want to provide your files for analysis, follow instructions at bottom of my post.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Micron is online now Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007