Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    campbell707 is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2007

use a button to enter a value into a table

Hello,

I am new to Microsoft access and still learning how to code. I am looking for a way to get a button on a form to enter a certain value into a data table when clicked on.

Cheers!

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Method depends on whether the form is bound to the table where you want the value saved.

Why do you want to use code to save data?
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Windows 8 Access 2007
    The form is bound to the table the data will be entered. Right now I am using yes/no checkboxes but they will still make work for me down the road to transform the data. The ultimate goal is for an employee to click the button on the form and have a specific letter such as "E" be saved to a column in the table that is called Eating.

Thanks!

Windows 8 Access 2007
    Don't need to use code. A coworker had mentioned I may need to code that button specifically to the table to enter the value with an onclickbutton command.

June7 is online now VIP
    Why would you need to enter "E" into field named Eating?

I suspect your data structure is not normalized and you seem to be aware of this issue by your mention of 'transform the data'.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Windows 8 Access 2007