Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    jwallace is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    2

    Question Smart Database

    I am creating a database for our employees. Let's say my table names are Personnel, Violations, Performance & Certifications. Within personnel, I have "Employee ID" (number), "First Name" & "Last Name". Violations, Performance & Certifications are linked to personnel via "Employee ID". I want to create forms for new entries for Violations, Performance & Certification NOT change current entries but add new ones. Those 3 forms will be accessed from completely separate areas of the database so I won't be selecting which form to choose from. In my mind, I want to click on a Button "Add new Violation" for example and then choose from an employee from a ListBox and have a subform appear with the correct information. Here's the kicker. I want the ListBox to have the employee's full names NOT their Employee ID. I've tried a couple of different methods, short of using VBA, to obtain those results and nothing has worked. Help!

  2. #2
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,930
    Review http://datapigtechnologies.com/flash...combobox3.html

    Your combobox RowSource can be an SQL statement that concatenates the name parts.

    SELECT EmployeeID, LastName & ", " & FirstName AS FullName FROM Employees;

    Advise not to use spaces and special characters/punctuation (underscore is exception) in naming convention.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  3. #3
    knarfreppep is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    106
    Wouldn't it be preferred to make your operator interface Employee-centric?

    So op first navigates to an Employee and uses buttons Violations, etc. which open the relevant form which then uses the Employee ID from the Employee form to populate its Employee ID field.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. is this smart form possible?
    By ariansman in forum Access
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-10-2014, 02:48 PM
  2. Remove all Smart Tags
    By wgroenewald in forum Access
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-18-2012, 01:12 AM
  3. Smart Card error
    By Ashe in forum Forms
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-17-2011, 03:22 PM
  4. Smart Search multiple fields?
    By Deisun in forum Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-15-2011, 12:31 PM
  5. Need a 'smart' field
    By doci4a in forum Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-04-2011, 09:43 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums