Justin Bailey is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2010 64bit

newbie question, is duplicate entry fields correct for multi unique data entry?

hi,
    I'm a newbie at Access trying to learn more about SQL and stuff... I'm sure this is probably a trivial question, but can't seem to figure it out. or if my approach is just wrong.

I started database project to get the hang of things. I have proper Tables and relationships design established. But I am running into some difficulty with form design.

I want to have a form to enter values of actors in a movie. So, in each record, I want to enter data for multiple actors. So when I try to create more than one actor entry field, they all seem to auto populate the same data from just the first data entry. Is there a way to create duplicate independent fields in a form sourced from one field in a table?

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    No.

Your options are

multi-value field but I don't like them and NEVER use https://support.office.com/en-us/art...C-6DE9BEBBEC31

or a dependent table for the actors.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Missinglinq is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Richmond (Virginia, not North Yorkshire!)
    You really need to have a separate "role/actor" Table, as June7 suggested. Your 'movie' Table should include all info on the film, except for the cast members, and should include a MovieID.

The movie Table would be used as the Recordset for a Main Form, and the role/actor Table (which also needs a MovieID field) for the Recordset for a SubForm. The Main Form/Subform would be related thru the MovieID.

Linq ;0)>
    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

Justin Bailey is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2010 64bit