Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    fat_ankles is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Alpharetta, GA
    Posts
    1

    Move status bar to top of form


    I created a split form and the status bar is at the bottom. The form has a search box for calling up records, and some records have attachments. The status bar at the bottom shows the number of records resulting in the search. Example - Record 201 has no attachments so the status bar shows Record 1 of 1. Record 205 has 5 attachments (each attachment is a record) and the status bar shows 1 of 5. Bottom line is I just want to move the "status bar" to the top of the form instead of its current location at the bottom. Any assistance would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,931
    Don't know of any way to accomplish that, other than 'build your own'. Could probably emulate with textboxes and VBA code. An expression in textbox can show the total records: Count(*)
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  3. #3
    Missinglinq's Avatar
    Missinglinq is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Richmond (Virginia, not North Yorkshire!)
    Posts
    3,018
    I'm sure that June7 is right...you'll need to 'roll your own' using a Textbox with the ControlSource of something like

    = "Record " & CurrentRecord & " Of " & RecordsetClone.RecordCount & " Records"

    Linq ;0)>
    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  4. #4
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,931
    Nice - I had forgotten CurrentRecord property, but not getting RecordsetClone to work in textbox expression. This does:

    ="Record " & [CurrentRecord] & " of " & Count(*) & " Records"

    Put textbox in form Header or Detail section.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  5. #5
    Missinglinq's Avatar
    Missinglinq is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Richmond (Virginia, not North Yorkshire!)
    Posts
    3,018
    Sorry I always use it in the Form_Current event, where it works just fine!

    I've added yours to my archives, for use in the ControlSource.

    Linq ;0)>
    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  6. #6
    Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    12,803
    what about the activex status bar control 6.0?

  7. #7
    Missinglinq's Avatar
    Missinglinq is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Richmond (Virginia, not North Yorkshire!)
    Posts
    3,018
    Quote Originally Posted by Micron View Post
    what about the activex status bar control 6.0?
    Not familiar with that one, but most experienced developers only use ActiveX Controls as a last resort! The problem is that the version of the ActiveX Control needed is different for each version of Access, which makes it a pain when you're working in a multi-version environment, as well as a pain when porting a database up to a new version of Access.

    Linq ;0)>
    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-11-2014, 11:26 AM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-20-2013, 10:26 PM
  3. how to change the words on form status bar?
    By techexpressinc in forum Forms
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-12-2011, 11:24 AM
  4. Form Progress/Status Bar
    By Tomfernandez1 in forum Forms
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-09-2011, 01:01 PM
  5. Progress/Status Bar on Form
    By Tomfernandez1 in forum Forms
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-10-2011, 04:41 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums