KaedeM is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Auto Generate Purchase Order Number for each new set of records

Hello,

I've been viewing this forum for several months now searching for answers to my database questions.
    I have found many helpful articles and threads on here. Now I have a question that even Google can't help me with.

I was tasked by my boss to create a Purchase Order Database for my department. I haven't been able to create a functioning database on my own but this time I'm close.

Right now my main two problems are:
    1. Setting up the Purchase order number to auto generate from a formula.
    The Purchase Order numbers need to follow the same format - 16-XXXX12-1, 16-XXXX12-2, 16-XXXX12-2
    16 is the Year. XXXX is the department identifier. 12 is the employee ID number.
    2. Keeping the Purchase order number the same for multiple records on the same form.

I have a few other smaller issues but I figure I'll get those eventually.

I have a bunch of tables and forms already but I'm not sure where to go from here.

What can I provide to help you make suggestions?

Thank you,
    Kaede
    Last edited by KaedeM; 12-01-2015 at 01:47 PM. Reason: Additional Information

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    1. generating custom unique identifier is a common topic, start with https://www.accessforums.net/forms/a...ing-23329.html

2. use form/subform arrangement - main form bound to Orders table and subform bound to OrderDetails table - Orders table primary key will automatically save to the OrderDetails records as foreign key

Now you have to decide whether or not the purchase order number will be designated as the PK/FK or to use autonumber as PK.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003