Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    gangel is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    194

    Creating a custom toolbar floating for reports

    Hey everyone, i have created a custom shortcut menu for my reports,

    But I my users are... 'not good with IT" and are struggling with the whole right click.



    I want to create a floating toolbar or just a toolbar that would sit at the top of the report with "Page right, left,print" etc on it so they can use it easier.

    I cant see tutes at all on this??!

    Any ideas?

    Gangel

  2. #2
    ItsMe's Avatar
    ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    7,862
    You can create custom Ribbons. However, this is an involved process. I will hide the Ribbon and create controls on forms (as well as Shortcut Menus) to replace the function of the Ribbon.

    Perhaps a solution is to create a Pop-Up form where modal = False and use that form as a Toolbar.

  3. #3
    gangel is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    194
    No Problem, thanks for your help.

    Now with that form, How do i refer to the report?

    eg.
    report:
    on_load
    dim reportobject as object
    ReportObject =activeObject


    then in the popup menu thing:
    use the ReportObject variable to show which report is current open to use its information off??

  4. #4
    ItsMe's Avatar
    ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    7,862
    use the ReportObject variable to show which report is current open to use its information off??
    Hmmmm, good question. You could place something like the following in a standard module.
    Public ReportObject As Report
    or
    Public ReportObject As Object

    If you feel you need a reference to the object as an object, what you are doing in the load event or open event is probably best. Otherwise, you might create a copy of the report trying to instantiate the object another way.
    ReportObject =activeObject

    Having said all of that, why not use the fully qualified name of the report from your pop-up form?
    Reports!ReportName

    Another approach might be to use a global variable and a function. I believe something like the following will create a reference to the open form or report. In other words, it will not create a new instance. It will reference the actual open report instance.

    In a standard module
    Code:
    Public gobjMenuLinkTo As Object
    
    Public Sub LaunchFloatingMenu(ObjectName As String, Optional IsReport As Boolean = -1)
    Set gobjMenuLinkTo = Nothing
    
    If IsReport Then
    Set gobjMenuLinkTo = Application.Reports(ObjectName)
    Else
    Set gobjMenuLinkTo = Application.Forms(ObjectName)
    End If
    DoCmd.OpenForm "frmFloatingMenu"
    And then call the function from the Report or even a form object ...
    Code:
    LaunchFloatingMenu Me.Name, False
    'or
    LaunchFloatingMenu Me.Name

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Custom toolbar too High!!
    By panoss in forum Access
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-13-2014, 06:46 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-22-2013, 09:12 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-05-2012, 05:37 PM
  4. Toolbar for reports
    By Opid in forum Reports
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-26-2012, 08:00 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-20-2011, 03:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums