Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    mixtr is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    5

    How to load a subform in a navigation form

    In my old database (v1) I have a function that when you double click on an employee's name on a report, the employee form opens (if not already open) and the record is set to that employee.



    I have revamped the database (v2) and I'm using a Navigation Form. One subform for employee profile and one subform to open the reports under a different navigation button (just buttons and labels with OpenReport macro). The reports open in a separate window.

    frmmain (navigation form)
    frmemployee (under navigation button 1)
    frmreport (under navigation button 2)

    I understand that when frmreport is loaded, frmemployee is unloaded.

    When I double click on an employee's name on a report, I would like frmemployee to load under frmmain but I don't know how to load the form. BrowseTo opens frmemployee under frmmain but closes the report, which is not a desirable effect. Any ideas?

    I'm hoping this is something simple but so far even page 10 of Google couldn't give me the answer.

  2. #2
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,948
    Don't like and never use navigation form/control. Why did you decide to? Why are you selecting employee from a report object and not a form?
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  3. #3
    mixtr is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    5
    The Navigation Form is a nice way to clean up the whole application. It allows to regroup the forms under a nice interface and get rid of the ribbon and sidebar to open/navigate forms and reports. This database is primarily used by computer illiterate people and I want to remove as much "Access" as possible. It also allows for a quick and easy navigation between forms.

    Selecting employees from reports (and other forms) is a really nice way to quickly access the employee's form without having the user opening the correct form and searching for the employee to make correction.

  4. #4
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,948
    I use db option settings and code to customize the user interface. I hide navigation pane and ribbon, disable shortcut keys and menus, and disable X close and File Exit.

    I have never built interactive reports.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  5. #5
    mixtr is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    5
    I was finally able to find the solution:
    Forms![frmmain].NavigationSubform.SourceObject = "frmemployee"
    then you can set focus to frmmain
    The only minor issue is that the Navigation Button does not change to reflect the subform currently active.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-18-2014, 12:35 PM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-06-2014, 05:35 AM
  3. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-23-2014, 02:08 AM
  4. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-13-2014, 07:55 AM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-14-2012, 10:08 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums