Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 43
  1. #16
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,930

    Does removing some records reduce enough? Delete some objects (reports and forms?) not involved in issue?
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  2. #17
    Gina Maylone is offline Always learning
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Afton, MN
    Posts
    544
    smallquickquotepro1 (2).zip Yes! Here it is June. Thank you! Was getting ready to chuck the whole thing!

  3. #18
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,930
    I am getting compile errors on the API Function and Sub declarations because I have 64-bit computer. Your profile says 64-bit and you don't get error? I had to modify with PtrSafe parameter.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  4. #19
    Gina Maylone is offline Always learning
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Afton, MN
    Posts
    544
    I'm 64 bit - but I am not getting those errors.

  5. #20
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,930
    The subform is linked to main form on ContactID fields. The subform can only show records that are associated with the current main form record. If you make selections in the filter controls that are not valid for the current record, the subform will not return records.

    So, what would be valid selections for contactID 5 that should return record(s)?


    One approach is to have the filter controls only list choices that are valid for the current record.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  6. #21
    orange's Avatar
    orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    16,726
    Just saw your post. I downloaded the file and can open it without error. I'm running 64 bit 8.1 with Access 2010 32 bit.
    I notice you have code to log error, but have not set up table (tlogerror) to record them.

  7. #22
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,930
    Oh crud! So what is it about my computer that I need the PtrSafe parameter??????
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  8. #23
    Gina Maylone is offline Always learning
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Afton, MN
    Posts
    544
    Right, that's why I was questioning the possibility on the front end. However, I can run a query and get the records I want (with criteria based on the subform). So its back to the drawing board I guess. Thank you June.

  9. #24
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,930
    Okay, what query (bidfilterquery ?) and what criteria?

    The Comand230 Click code is using the Me. reference. This means it is trying to apply filter to the main form, not the subform.

    The double click is setting subform RecordSource to the bidfilterquery.

    I NEVER use dynamic parameterized queries.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  10. #25
    Gina Maylone is offline Always learning
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Afton, MN
    Posts
    544
    I removed the table to be able to shrink the db far enough to upload.

  11. #26
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,930
    What table? Why delete table? Delete data. If table is involved in the issue, how can we analyze without it?

    Guessing I edited my previous post while you were reading. Might review again.

    Really need to answer questions and provide requested info.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  12. #27
    Gina Maylone is offline Always learning
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Afton, MN
    Posts
    544
    Query16 works. Ok - I see what you're referring to - so I changed it to:
    Code:
     [
    Forms]![contacts]![bidsheet].Filter = strWhere
            [Forms]![contacts]![bidsheet].FilterOn = True
    And got the error, "Object doesn't support this property or method"
    Me.bidsheet.filter=strwhere didn't work either.

  13. #28
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,930
    Still don't know what parameters to test with.

    I would use:

    Me.bidsheet.Form.Filter = strWhere
    Me.bidsheet.Form.FilterOn = True
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  14. #29
    Gina Maylone is offline Always learning
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Afton, MN
    Posts
    544
    Test with status=Needs Bid. Or try Bidder=John Doe.

  15. #30
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,930
    In the posted db for Command230 Click event, you reference variable strFilter but the variable is strWhere
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 19
    Last Post: 09-25-2015, 10:26 PM
  2. Combobox subform filter: text field vs. number field
    By Alhassani in forum Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-08-2014, 10:04 AM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-15-2013, 10:53 PM
  4. Replies: 19
    Last Post: 07-23-2012, 10:34 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-09-2012, 02:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums