NewbyForAccess is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2003

Date Retrieval Using Start/End Dates Fields on Opening Form Containing Reports

I'm very new at using Access so hoping someone here can help me. I have an opening form that contains command buttons to preview all the reports I've created. The reports are working fine and pulling the criteria I want on each of these reports because I have the queries pulling the data by using the Between function in the Date field. I have now also added two text boxes (one for Start Date and one for End Date) and also a command button to update the dates. I'd like for all my reports on this same opening form to preview by pulling the data using the dates typed into the Start Date and End Date fields. Can someone tell me how I can get this to work? I've researched until I'm researched out and can't find the help to achieve this. What I have found and tried wasn't working for me. Please help!

ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    You can pass criteria to a Report's Filter property when using VBA to open the report.

Here is an example of some code that you might place in the click event for a command button.

Code:
    Dim strWhere As String
    strWhere = "[MyDateField] BETWEEN #" & Me.TextBoxName1 & "# AND #" & Me.TextBoxName2 & "#"

DoCmd.OpenReport "ReportName", acViewPreview, , strWhere

Thank you so much for this! I just tried it on one of the reports, and it's working great!

Okay, this worked great for some of my reports. However, when trying to run others that were based on the same query but also pulling from another field, it hung up. Is there a code I can put in the query itself to pull the range of dates by using the same date fields that worked in this example that are on my opening form? Thanks so much for your help!

Quote Originally Posted by NewbyForAccess View Post