Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    nycman is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2003

Multiple Many to many relationship question

Hi All,

I'm new in Access so help me solve this problem.

tblCustomr
    CustomerID
    CustomerName

tblCustomerOrder
    CustomerOrderID
    CustomerID
    OrderID

tblOrder
    OrderID
    OrderName

tblOrderProduct
    OrderID
    ProductID

tblProduct
    ProductId
    ProductName

As you can see tblCustomerOrder & tblOrderProduct are Join tables for the rest of the tables. What I'm trying to do is that I need a form based on CustomerID with OrderID as Subform and ProductID as Sub Subform. So the ProductID is linked to the OrderID but I also need the ProductID to be linked to the CustomerID too

So CustomerID 1 will nave OrderID1 and will order ProductID1
    Then the same Customer 1 will now place another order and now will get OrderID2 but will order the same ProductID1

The way they are linked now, if Customer 1 have OrderID1 and orders ProductID1 on the second order Product1 is already "assigned" to that same Customer1

Hope I've explained myself.

Thank you
    Last edited by nycman; 09-02-2015 at 11:18 AM. Reason: OrderName

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    What problem? You haven't described a problem.

Work through tutorials at http://www.rogersaccesslibrary.com/
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

I already described my problem

"The way they are linked now, if Customer 1 have OrderID1 and orders ProductID1 on the second order Product1 is already "assigned" to that same Customer1"

June7 is offline VIP
    When I first viewed your post, there was not all that info.

I don't understand need for table tblOrder. I've never seen anyone name orders. Just put this field in tblCustomerOrder. Need OrderDate field.