AccessNewbie123 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

Cannot enter information in certain fields

Hi,

As my name says, I'm pretty new to Access. I have been working on a new database for work and everything was working fine until all the fields in one tab of my form would not let me enter any information.
    Each tab has fields from a different table, but I didn't use any subforms. Each table is related solely through a one to one primary ID linking the records across all the tables.

I don't get any error messages, just a beeping noise. Does anyone know what might be the problem?

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    So there is a subform container control on each tab? The container control SourceObject is set directly to table? What table is the main form bound to?

One table must act as the 'master' and have a PK field which values will be saved to other tables as FK. The PK can be autonumber but the FK cannot. Cannot link tables on two autonumber fields.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 8 Access 2010 32bit
    this is your problem

Each table is related solely through a one to one primary ID linking the records across all the tables.
    but I didn't use any subforms
    and this - the rule is one form, one table - so have your 'master' table as the recordsource to your main form and the other tables each have their own subform

Also if you are linking primaryid to primaryid, the chances are your tables are not set up correctly, there are very few situations where this is appropriate. You should be linking primaryID of the master table to a 'familyID' in each of the other related tables