tylershannon is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Exclamation Requery information in combo-boxes on main form when new record is added in different form

PLEASE HELP!

I am new to using Access and VBA, and have spent countless hours trying to figure out this one problem. Now I've had enough and need to seek better help, so I'm here. Here's what I'm dealing with:

On my main form (frmMain) I have a button to add new records. This button opens a new form (frmSerialNumbers), and on this form I add a new serial number in the textbox (SerialNumber) for a part along with other bits of information (the serial number is the primary and most essential piece of information for identifiction), and it saves correctly to my linked tables. However, this information is not updating in my comboboxes. These comboboxes are set to narrow the search after an item is selected from another. The comboboxes are named: GTTypeSel, CombustorSel, ComponentSel, SerialSel, PartSel, JobSel.

I assume the key here is do add some sort of code for SerialSel so that this combobox recognizes the new entry. Although I may need to add code for each combobox. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Please, I ask that you be clear with your responses. Because I am new to this, many other forums I have been through have completely lost me. Specify where the codes need to go, what type(s) of event(s), etc.

Thank you graciously in advance,

Tyler

orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL