Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    scarroll825 is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    4

    First Access Database Looking for Help with

    Hi all,



    I working on my first access database in an effort to replace the daily task system my company uses (just emails, its very cumbersome). I'd have forms that populate tables with task details, then a report to display daily/weekly summaries.

    The fields I would need for the tasks are:
    • Staff name
    • Date
    • Task type
    • Client name
    • Client contact (for a phone call or visit)
    • Client address (if it is an in-person visit)
    • Description
    • Duration
    • Travel time (again for a visit only)
    • Mileage (^)


    I'm thinking I'll probably need a second table with client information (Name, Address, Contact(s)) with some kind of relationships setup to make the form filling easy.

    I'd like for users to be able to fill out one form for each task that will create a record with that task info.

    I'd like the client information to populate from their selection (if they enter a client name, the appropriate address and contact will also populate, but be editable).

    One issue I am having is if I want a combobox that will auto-expand with the client names I need a separate table with all the client names, and have the selection populate to the client name field on the Task table. How can I have it so that if the user enters a client name that is not on the clients table, it will add a new record for that new client name?

    I'm just hoping someone can get an idea for what I'm trying to do, and point me in the right direction.

  2. #2
    ranman256's Avatar
    ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    9,525
    yes, you need :

    tClient table
    tStaff table
    tTask table with all possible tasks to do

    tStaffTasks, staff id with assigned tasks
    --------------
    StaffTaskID (autonum)
    StaffID
    Task
    Date
    etc..

    you will have a Form for all tables and 1 for entry of StaffTasks
    select staff person
    select task
    etc

  3. #3
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,930
    Adding records to a 'lookup' table 'on-the-fly' during data entry requires code. That's what the combobox NotInList event is for. http://www.fontstuff.com/access/acctut20.htm

    See if these tutorials will help you through other issues http://www.rogersaccesslibrary.com/
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  4. #4
    nick404's Avatar
    nick404 is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    352
    First, don't use Name as a field title- Access reserves Name for its uses. Go with ClientName or something similar. If you have ClientName set as the client information table's Primary Key you can do a 1-to-many relationship between ClientName (from client info table) as the 1, to the client name field (in your first table) as the many. Reinforce integrity as well.

    As far as this combobox thing you want.. I am not 100% sure what you want. You can set the combo record source as ClientName the client info table for starters and have spots for the rest of the information (address, contact, &c.) to populate. If it is a new client they are entering, in the combo boxes Data properties where is says "Limit to List" select no and they can enter in new data not already on the list.

  5. #5
    ssanfu is offline Master of Nothing
    Windows XP Access 2000
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska, USA
    Posts
    9,664
    Here are some links to choosing a PK field and Do's and Don'ts . The PK can be a text field, but it is not a good idea.

    Autonumbers--What they are NOT and What They Are
    http://www.utteraccess.com/wiki/index.php/Autonumbers


    Microsoft Access Tables: Primary Key Tips and Techniques
    http://www.fmsinc.com/free/newtips/primarykey.asp

    then:

    Use Autonumbers properly
    http://access.mvps.org/access/general/gen0025.htm


    I always use an autonunber as my PK field.

  6. #6
    scarroll825 is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    4
    Fist off thank you all for pointing me in the right direction. I was able to get my tables and forms setup how I need them.

    Now my question is: How can I share this with team members so they can use the form to enter data? Really they only need access to fill out the form, and view a report. I'm not sure if there is an easy way to do this with sharepoint, but I have a feeling that will be the best bet.

  7. #7
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,930
    Is everyone on the same network server? Split the db. Backend with tables in a shared folder on server. Frontend with links to backend tables and has queries, forms, reports, code is copied to each user computer.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  8. #8
    nick404's Avatar
    nick404 is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    352

  9. #9
    scarroll825 is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    4
    That is the only issue, many of us work remotely, and don't have access to the network all the time.

  10. #10
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,930
    SharePoint is a common topic. Here is one recent thread https://www.accessforums.net/access/...ses-52957.html
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  11. #11
    nick404's Avatar
    nick404 is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    352
    do you have a portal for a shared drive?

  12. #12
    scarroll825 is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2013
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    4
    We don't, is it possible to split the db, and have the tables on sharepoint then have users input through forms on the front end?

  13. #13
    nick404's Avatar
    nick404 is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    352
    I do not know too much about SharePoint. You can split the database using it, though. Here is a link on splitting using sp.
    https://support.office.com/en-za/art...2b54db252c#bm2

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-18-2015, 09:36 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-21-2015, 11:55 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-03-2014, 10:27 AM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-15-2011, 10:52 PM
  5. Migration from Access 2003 database to Access 2007 database.
    By cyclus2 in forum Import/Export Data
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-10-2010, 11:43 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums