dluga20 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Begginer Relationships Question

Hello All,

I am a beginner (and yes I have already watched many online tutorials so please don't point me to any) and I am trying to figure out how to set up some relationships. Can someone show me an ERD and/or explanation of the description below? I can't seem to figure it out despite it seeming so simple.

I want to build a DB containing part numbers, fixtures, and gauges. Any part number can have any number of fixtures or gauges. For example, part number 123 may have 2 fixtures and 1 gauge associated. Part number 456 may have no fixture and 2 gauges associated with it.

CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 8 Access 2010 32bit
    you need two tables, one for parts and one for fixtures and gauges

if a fixture or gauge can be in more than one part then you need a third 'link' table

please clarify and we can move on to what those tables need to look like

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Yes, 2 tables.
    tFixtures would have a code fld, FIX or GUA
    And this table can self relating...with a [parent] ID, if a fixture has sub fixtures.

Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by Ajax View Post
    you need two tables, one for parts and one for fixtures and gauges

if a fixture or gauge can be in more than one part then you need a third 'link' table

please clarify and we can move on to what those tables need to look like

Yes a fixture or gauge can be used for multiple part numbers in some instances.