dougdrex is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Query using to Countif function for multiple fields from a specific record

Using Access 2010

I'm an expert user in Excel and am trying to learn more about Access, so I relate many of the functions to what they are called in Excel. And what I'm trying to do right now is count the number of fields in a specific record where the value is a specific result (CountIf).

For example, I need to return the number of fields in a specific record where the value is "Meets Requirements". The specific record will be determined by the Name, Contact, and Email fields (which together comprise the Primary Key).

Is there a way to count the values in multiple fields that equal "Meets Requirements"?

I hope my question makes sense. If not, please let me know and I can clarify any questions.

Many Thanks!
    Doug

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Here in Access land, use queries.
    In a query , add your table, from the table, bring down your field you wish to count , twice.
    like:
    [name], [name]

turn on TOTALS. (the summation icon)
    under the 2nd [name], on the TOTAL line , change GROUP BY, to COUNT.

run the query
    you will get counts of the items
    BOB 5
    SAM 12

When I tried the above suggestion for one of the fields using "Meets Requirements" in the Criteria line of the query, it gave me an error message stating "Data type mismatch in criteria expression". I checked the table where the underlying data resides and all the records (5 or 6) contain "Meets Requirements" in that field.

I'm puzzled why it won't work.

Also, I would like to create a field in the query to checks across multiple fields for a specific value (such as Meets Requirements), not just one specific field. Is that possible?

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit