Collins is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Traffic Database Design Question

Beginner here. I have a pretty go understanding of tables, records, fields. Things start to get a little grey with relationships and forms and then totally out of my element with queries and reports.

Every year we collect crash data, traffic volumes and other information and crunch it in an excel spreadsheet. We base our studies off the last 3 years of data. So for this year we are entering crash data for 2014 and our report will reflect 2012,2013 and 2014. Some of this information gets added together or calculated to determine crash rates and warrants and so on.

So would I have a table with all different volume and crash data we track sorted by the year as the primary key?

Then, how do we pull that information for the last 3 years? Queries??? Or Reports?

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Collins

JoeM is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Tables, themselves, usually don't have any order attached to them. Someone once made a great metaphor and said think of a database table as a "bag or marbles". The records are all jumbled around in there, and order relative to other records in the table really has no meaning.

All sorts and selections you would do in queries. I would highly recommend educating yourselves on them (book, course, tutorials, etc). They are probably one of the most common and useful things in Access (and other database programs). Tables store records, but whenever you have a "task" to do, queries usually come into play.

Queries are often use as the Data Sources for things such as Forms, Reports, and Exports (many noobies are often mistaken and think only tables can be used as Data Sources for these things).

So, all sorting and record selection (criteria) will be done in your queries.

Collins is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeM View Post