Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    jassie is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    40

    problem with Access 2013 in vb app in release mode

    I changed a VB desktop application so be a VB.Net 2010 desktop application to use an Access 2013 database so users would not be using workstations that use Windows 95 as the operating system.
    To accomplish this goal, I did the following:


    1. I downloaded 2007 Office System Driver: Data Connectivity Components from the following url:
    http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downl....aspx?id=23734.
    2. I built the application in debug mode and installed the application on a Windows 7 laptop and everything ran successfully.
    3. However if I compile the application in 'release' mode, I get an error message that basically says
    ' it does not recognize the Provider=Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.15.0' provider.
    It is better to deploy a desktop application in Release mode instead of Debug mode. However the 'Release mode' install does not work.
    Thus would you tell me what I should possibly change to get the application to run in 'Release mode'?

  2. #2
    ranman256's Avatar
    ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    9,525
    Cant you just use the Access runtime?

  3. #3
    ItsMe's Avatar
    ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    7,862
    I do not know if I have the solution but I would expect to see
    Code:
    connectionString="Provider=Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0 ...
    In your App.Config file.

    I just used the wizard to build a connection string and that is the driver it used. I have Access 2010 (Version 14) installed on this machine and a paid version of Visual Studio. I did not download any drivers. If it is a Windows Desktop App you built I would think the driver would be included with your publication and it would be version 12.

    Did you check the Settings under your Project's Properties to see if the App.config matches the Settings file?

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Export From Access 2013 To Excel 2013
    By Esmatullaharifi in forum Programming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-17-2015, 09:40 PM
  2. Outlook 2013 + Access 2013 + HTML
    By Yann63 in forum Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-26-2013, 02:39 PM
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-22-2013, 02:49 PM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-29-2011, 04:06 PM
  5. Opening Form in Data Entry Mode Problem
    By alsoto in forum Forms
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-28-2009, 07:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums