Troubled is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2003

Smile Altering people's data input from lower to upper case

As a complete novice to Access 2003 I am finding it hard going. I have a database containing a mixture of upper and lower case input. I can make upper case appear on the screen by using > in the format box in the property section for each field. This works great but the same old uncorrected stuff remains on the database. How can I get the database to store the corrected upper case data after I have entered it in lower case? Thanks for your help

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    That will require code (macro or VBA) to save the formatted text. Example:

Private Sub tbxFieldNum_AfterUpdate()
    Me.tbxFieldNum = UCase(Me.tbxFieldNum)
    End Sub

Use an UPDATE sql action to correct the existing data.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

CJ_London is online now VIP
    Windows 8 Access 2010 32bit
    does it matter? - users should only be using forms and reports so you can just use the > for formatting. Access isn't case sensitive so Mr=mr=MR

Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by Ajax View Post
    does it matter? - users should only be using forms and reports so you can just use the > for formatting. Access isn't case sensitive so Mr=mr=MR
    If Option Compare is set to Option Compare Binary, Access is case sensitive. If it is not specified, the default is binary.

Sorry, thought you were using Access, not VB

If you are using access, you might want to look at this link

http://www.fmsinc.com/microsoftacces...ons/index.html

Sorry, thought you were using Access, not VB
    If you are referring to me, I am using Access and Access VBA. I think the original poster is using Access too, according to their profile.