magnusstefan is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 8 Access 2013

Differences between Standard SQL and the SQL version in MS Access

Hi, all!

(I am not sure that this is the right category for the question, but I try here first since I could not find any SQL specific category in the main board.)

I need some help from you with pinpointing the differences between Standard SQL, for example 2003 SQL Standard, and the version used in MS Access. Since I couldn’t find any source for this I studied the subject from some books, and now tried to make a little list myself.

I have divided “the suspects” in four groups. (I am aware, that a really strict and logical categorization of this subject may not be possible. Nevertheless, I have made the categorization below just to make it possible to ask the question and also discuss the subject!)

1. SQL commands only in SQL Standard: NATURAL INNER JOIN, USING (together with any kind of JOIN), FULL OUTER JOIN.
    2. SQL commands which works the same way in Access as in SQL standard, but has another “name”: “LEFT OUTER JOIN” is “LEFT JOIN” in Access. “RIGHT OUTER JOIN” is “RIGHT JOIN” in Access
    3. SQL commands/functions which exists only in SQL standard, but who has a reasonable correspondence in Access: “CAST”. In Access you can do the same things as in CAST, but the functionality is split in several different functions like Cbyte(), Cint(), and so on.
    4. SQL commands or functions that exists in Access, but not in SQL Standard: TOP, DISTINCTROW, TRANSFORM – PIVOT, Parameter queries: [], iif(), switch(), partition() and nz().

Have I missed or misunderstood something essential, or am I fairly well on track?

pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    For starters, FULL OUTER JOIN is not supported in Access. TOP is certainly a standard, I just used it in SQL Server yesterday. I'll dig up a document Leigh Purvis put together when I'm at my computer, it has several differences discussed.