jassie is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

Newbie using access 2013 features

Since I am new to Access, I have the following questions to when to use each of the following features in Access. I am basically replacing vb code with the same functions in access. Here are the questions:
    1. When should I use a module versus a form?
    2. When should I use query versus a macro?
    3. When would you combine any of the access features to complete a request? Like would I use a query inside of a form or Macro or a module?
    4. would I use a macro inside of a query, module, or form?

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    You are comparing apples and oranges.

There is no 'module versus a form'. If you need a form to make tasks easier, then use a form. A form can have code (macro or VBA). Code behind form can call procedures in a general module.

There is no 'query versus a macro'. A macro can call a query object.

Queries can be used as the RecordSource of a form or report.

Macros can call VBA functions.

I don't use macros, only VBA.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Always use a form as a User Interface. If you need VBA, create code behind the form. The code behind will be private to the form. Public functions within a General Module will be public and global to the application. If you create a Class, that is not a form, you can instantiate the class from within another module/class and access its Public methods.

3. When would you combine any of the access features to complete a request?