jassie is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

Access compile and check for references

From what I have seen on the internet, once an Access .mdb file is converted to the .accdb format, I would need to

1. compile,
    2. check for references,
    3. compact and repair, and
    4. open to test.

Since I am new to working with Access 2013 (I have worked with vb.net in visual studio), I will understand what you are referring to. I just have not worked with VBA in Access before. Thus can you tell me or point to links that will tell me how to accomplish the goal I have?

CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 8 Access 2010 32bit
    compiling option can be found in the vba editor under the debug tab.

compiling will fail if references aren't correct

compact and repair option can be found under the database tools tab or file tab

jassie is offline Advanced Beginner
    Thank you for your help so far!

I have the following additional questions to ask:
    1. I did find the compile under the debug tab. However the 'compile' option was dark black when I clicked and it has remained 'gray' for the last 2 hours. Thus it seems to me it is having a problem, correct? Where will I see compile errors? I have the 'immediate window' open and there are no error messages. Thus can you tell me where I look for the error messages as?
    2. Where can I find the references that need to be possibly changed? Also are there directions on how to change the references?

CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 8 Access 2010 32bit
    compile goes grey because it is disabled, and it is disabled because the code is compiled - make a change to the code and you can compile again. Errors are seen during compiling, you will get an error message in a popup box and the offending line will be highlighted - messages are generally quite clear once you understand the terminology - syntax error, object not defined, etc. If there are no issues, compiling typically takes less than a second