jackg6 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013

Exclamation VBA coded submit button to Enter data for each day of the week

Hello,
    I am currently trying to create a form to enter in an allocated number of hours for a day.
    Each entry has 5 aspects:
    1. Date
    2. Resource
    3. Project
    4. Position
    5. Hours

The tricky part about the form is that I want to be able to enter records for all 5 days of any given week at the same time.

The form is set up with 4 comboboxes on top:
    • Resource
    • Project
    • Position
    • Week

And across the bottom are 5 text boxes each labelled with their respective day of the week.

I am very new to VBA but from what I've gathered through research is that the best way to accomplish this is through VBA code behind a submit button. The code would need to grab the data from the first 3 comboboxes for Resource, Project, and Position, then for date it would need to use the Week combobox in addition to a formula to adjust the date depending on which day text box, then take the hours number from inside the text box, enter it into into the table, and then loop through the rest of the days.
    So I know what I want to do and how to do it, but I've been researching VBA and trying to learn how to accomplish this and it is confusing the hell out of me. I would really appreciate if anyone could provide any assistance or insight on how I might go about doing this. Also if anyone see's any flaws in my plan or easier ways to accomplish my goal I would appreciate this as well.
    Thanks in advance for any help,
    Jack

Perceptus is offline Expert
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Have you tried a split form or do you literally wish to enter the data into the table at the same time for all 5 records? You could use a temp/dummy table to store the data as you prepare it and then have them inserted into the table you store at.

jackg6 is offline Novice