muchobrento is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Creating a db that is searchable by tags

Default Searchable Tagged List

Here's a total newbie problem that I could use some help on:

I'm trying to create a list of items that allows me to tag each item with essentially unlimited tags and perhaps a limited number of other fields. Later, I'd like to be able to search that list for specific items by the tags that they have. Finally, I'd like to either export or copy/paste the results.

Easy, right? Not for me : )

Can anybody help me out?

MuchoBrento

Ruegen is offline VIP
    Windows 8 Access 2010 64bit
    Quote Originally Posted by muchobrento View Post
    Default Searchable Tagged List
    Here's a total newbie problem that I could use some help on:

I'm trying to create a list of items that allows me to tag each item with essentially unlimited tags and perhaps a limited number of other fields. Later, I'd like to be able to search that list for specific items by the tags that they have. Finally, I'd like to either export or copy/paste the results.

Easy, right? Not for me : )

Can anybody help me out?

MuchoBrento
    You could do this in multiple ways

You could have a text field in your table that stores tags separated by commas then have a function that parses those tags into an array (to which you could do more with)

or you could have a many to many field which allows for more than one tag description attached to more than one record

so records 1,5,234,4556 could have the same tag "happy" as well as "foo"

imagine the field would be

"foo, happy, sad, angry" etc

then view all records that match either.

tends to get a bit messy with many to many though....

if you parse you can use a like ** in the field of comma separated field and have the database look for any records that match from that field - you would be limited by the text field limit as to how many tags you could add