computergirl is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013

Tables with multiple relationships

I am new to working with relationships and could use help figuring out how to properly connect these two tables. I have a Company Table and an Contact table that have both a one-to-one and one to many relationship. The One-to-many relationship is the one company to many contacts and the one-to-one is the primary contact in the company table has at most one match in the contact table. I was sure to not require either field but when I try to add a new company it won't let me as the contact does not exist and when I try to add a new contact it won't let me as the company does not exist. This is for a class and they are on spring break so I am not able to get help from my instructor until next week. Below was one of my table designs of the two table although I have removed all the lookup wizards and still no luck. Just to clarify, the one to one relationship is between the PrimaryContactID in the Agency table and the ContactID in the AgencyContact table. I also thought about trying an entity subtype for the PrimaryContactID, but wasn't sure if this was the correct use of an entity as I want to be sure the contact info is all stored in the Agency Contact table to limit where updates need to happen. Any help is appreciated as I have spent a significant amount of time trying to figure out and not having much luck.

Agency
    AgencyID Short Text 4
    AgencyName Short Text 50
    AgencyAddress Short Text 25
    AgencyCity Short Text 25
    AgencyState Short Text 2
    AgencyZip Short Text 10 Zip Code Validation
    PrimaryContactID Number
    AgencyContact
    ContactID AutoNumber
    ContactFirstName Short Text 25
    ContactlastName Short Text 25
    Title Short Text 25
    ContactPhone Short Text 15 Phone Validation
    ContactEmail Short Text 25
    AgencyID Lookup Wizard

orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003