JR Taylor is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007

New to Access - complex form? (golf scores database)

Hi all,

I'm still learning sql statements/queries and Access as a whole. Although I would consider myself an advanced Excel user, I consider myself a Novice when it comes to databases.

Here's the short story. I play golf and log things on my scorecard like, strokes, putts, hit fairway?, hit green? etc. Last year, I built a complex excel workbook for this data, and now I'd like to create a database to replace it. I've researched database design and have the following tables.

Courses
    CourseID,coursename,country,street,city,state,zip,phone,UR L
    Tees
    CourseID,TeeID,teename,rating,slope
    Holes
    TeeID,HoleID,holenumber,par,yardage,handicap
    Scores (main table)
    RoundDate,HoleID,RoundID,Strokes,Fairwayresults,GIROpportunity,Gree nresults,Putts
    Players
    PlayerID,Playername
    So I have this built, and the tables are joined as indicated by color above.

Now I want to create a form for data entry, and I'm stumped. I think because I'm new to databases I just don't know what I don't know.

I have created a form layout in Excel and have attached a screenshot to this post. Hopefully it helps with your answers.

What I'm attempting to do is tell a story. If you look at my layout, it reads: "On X Date, Player JR played Coursename (& course info) from the X Tees, and his results are as follows."