sbrady19 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013

file on network wont open

I am a newbie to ACCESS. I made a database here at work for our video library. I put the file on one of our servers so the girl who will input all the data for each video can get to it, and also so I can get to it to make changes in the design and layout. Well, I can open the file and work on it, but she cannot open the file. She copied the file to her computer and all is well. Is that weird. What would the right way to do what I am trying to do.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	error.png 
Views:	15 
Size:	33.9 KB 
ID:	19979

rpeare is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2003
    split your database into a front end/back end (you can use the database splitter within access to do it) this will separate you data (tables) from your user inteface (forms/reports etc)

The problem is that you have set the exclusive rights to the database so only one person can have it open at a time. If you create a front end/back end database you can copy the front end to each person's computer (or network location) and all access the same data at the same time (though you do not want to have multiple people entering/updating data at the same time if you're using bound forms).

great thanks. Got my marching orders. Now on to figuring out how to do what you said.

found a tutorial. (http://databases.about.com/od/tutori...m#step-heading). This newbie is still confused. I split the database. I opened the "back end" file which is only the table, but I can still modify the table. I thought that possibility was going to go away once you split the original. I can see how you can make your own forms and reports and query's but how do you lock out the ability to make changes to the ever precious table.

Thanks for any enlightenment.