rebfein is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit

Need help creating relationships between tables.

Hi there,

I'm a Tech writer, who last used Access XP a VERY long time ago. I've been tasked with creating an Access DB project involving inventory for my boss.

I've spend two months creating in Excel (per the boss) the main table. I've imported the information into Access and created five very pretty tables (company p/n, p/n description, categories, vendor p/n, vendor components, company p/n descriptions).

I'm trying to establish relationships between the tables, each has a primary key field (Index set to "Yes, no duplicates"). I can establish a one-to-one relationship with the drag and drop method, but when I try to establish a one to many relationship from one table to the next, I get a one to one relationship. How do I get a one to many relationship?

Steps taken:

1. Drag ID from one table to the next.
    2. In the Edit relationships box comes up, I click the 'Enforce...' check box.
    3. Click the Join Properties button and select option 3 and click OK.
    4. At the Edit Relationships screen, and press the Create button.

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    I see 6, not 5, table names.

What are the PK/FK fields in each table?

Advise no spaces and special characters/punctuation (underscore is exception) in naming convention.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Further to June's comment, spreadsheet and database are different animals. Each tables is about 1 subject; they are related based on Business rules (too many people think they can make up relationships at will).

Consider (remove space and special characters from names)