phifer2088 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007

Need Help Creating Access Database From Excel Document

Hello,

I am working on importing my first database from an excel document and I need a lot of help because I am not a database programmer or even close. I have created one in the past with the help from this site and others.

I have attached the excel document in a zip file. Excel documents are not an authorized file type. This is going to be used for volunteers to input the shift and day they would like to work. I want to start by requiring volunteers to contact me and I will add them to the list of possible volunteers and I will give them a unique identification number.

When they contact me I will require all the information that is currently in the excel document (first, last, supervisor, ph number) I will then add them to a list of possible volunteers.

Then I would like a form they can access via sharepoint for volunteering what shift they can work. On this form it will have a box to input their unique id number and then select a shift from a dropbox (that has not been filled and auto populates). This will add them to the schedule.

Then I need a way to pull a report that shows all the volunteers and does not include their ID numbers.

As you can see the supplied document is full for March. I also have a second sheet that is blank for April.

Thanks in advance.

I imagine there will be tables for
    Volunteers (no duplicates in this list)
    Supervisors (1 supervisor can be over multiple Volunteers)
    Dates/Shifts (there are 2 shifts per day, there are 2 slots per shift)
    Attached Files Attached Files

orange is online now Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Database is very different than spreadsheet. Access is built on a different object model than Excel.