Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 22 of 22
  1. #16
    orange's Avatar
    orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    16,726
    Do you have a list of Students and Subjects now?
    Is there anything you are having problems with at this time?

  2. #17
    Som is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by orange View Post
    Do you have a list of Students and Subjects now?
    Yes, I have the list of students and concerned Subjects with me. I can also feed some arbitrary dummy data for testing purpose and delete later on.
    Code:
      
    StudentID    StudentName    English    Math    Physics    Chemistry    History    Geography
    1                 A         40          85        75        82           50         75      ( we will discard 40 and sum the remnant 5 marks) 
    2                 B         75          78        82        65           61         63       ( we will discard 61 and sum the rest)
    Quote Originally Posted by orange View Post
    Is there anything you are having problems with at this time?
    I apologize for the delayed response. I was reading your links especially the SQL tutorials on the w3schools site.

    Meanwhile I was thinking if it is possible to bypass the SubjectID. I mean can I use English, Math etc. directly instead of 1,2...? Isn't that more intuitive and less error-prone at the time of data entry?

    I took a look at sub-query and TOP N etc. as kindly suggested by you earlier. But as regards my level of understanding, that is pretty advanced stuff and I need a hand-holding to proceed to the next step, imho. :-)

    Warm regards,
    Som

  3. #18
    orange's Avatar
    orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    16,726
    Your record layout show are in "spreadsheet mode" not database.
    In databases your records would be
    Code:
    StudentID Subject and Mark
    1             English          40
    1             Math             85
    1             Physics          75
    ....
    2             English           75
    You should have test data to test your model.You can build test data to represent various scenarios.

    The junction table has StudentID and SubjectId and Mark.That is for storage.
    You retrieve data via queries , and the query can output subjectName from tblSubject based on a join between SubjectID in jnc and tblSubject tables.

    Look at queries SELECT in w3schools sql.

  4. #19
    Som is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by orange View Post
    Your record layout show are in "spreadsheet mode" not database.
    Ooops! Hard to get rid of the spreadsheet obsession! :-)

    Quote Originally Posted by orange View Post
    Look at queries SELECT in w3schools sql.
    Okay Sir. Checking.

    Meanwhile two more questions:
    1. I've created a db using msaccess, linking an excel file and put those two in the same folder in my hdd.
    Will the access db ( link table) retain its association if I copy these two files along with the folder to another computer?

    2. Access has a great report generator as I've seen. Is there any other very good and stable report generator ( preferably free and opensource if possible) that can use an excel file as source?

    Warm regards,
    Som

  5. #20
    orange's Avatar
    orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    16,726
    1. It should if you copy folders and files. You can always Relink.
    2. Access report generator is fine for most things.

    Where does excel fit in the picture?

  6. #21
    Som is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    12

    Wink

    Thank you once again Sir.

    Quote Originally Posted by orange View Post
    Where does excel fit in the picture?
    I am building some test data as per your earlier suggestion.
    Earlier I was playing with link table from excel option and report generation earlier. Here is the result.
    I want to output exactly a report like this with only Msaccess.


    Warm regards,
    Som

  7. #22
    Som is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2003
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    12
    Just ran a crosstab query with some test data. Here is the result.


    Meanwhile, reading and practising SELECT query as suggested by you.

    Warm regards,
    Som

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-31-2014, 05:07 PM
  2. Searching marks field
    By Wilson in forum Access
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-27-2012, 07:37 AM
  3. Concatenate Quotation Marks
    By millerdav99 in forum Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-11-2011, 09:36 AM
  4. Obtain value in record
    By jgelpi16 in forum Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-20-2011, 08:52 AM
  5. obtain value from listbox
    By englisap in forum Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-11-2011, 12:59 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums