cosyg is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2013

Question Open record in main form by clicking record ID in subform

Hello,

I am new to Access and while I've been able to figure out how to build most of my intended functionality by searching forums, Google, YouTube, etc., I can't figure this one out.

I am creating an events database. In my main form, I have all the details of a single event (billing code, fees, customer, support personnel, etc.). Then, I have a subform (form view) that lists each of the other services which share an event ID (this ID comes from a separate, unrelated events management suite). In the subform, I display the most-commonly-edited fields so that they are editable without navigating to a different record.

However, there will be instances where it becomes necessary to navigate to one of the records listed in the subform. I would like to make this a quick process by just clicking on the primary key in the subform, and have the corresponding record appear in the main form.

In my searches I've found a common suggestion to use a DoCmd.OpenForm method where the form opens to that specific record -- in effect filtering by the primary key number. I don't prefer this method because it disables the ability to navigate to other records using the previous, next, find records, (etc.) buttons without closing and re-opening the form.

Is there a way to make the main form 'jump' to a specific record by clicking on a control in the subform, without limiting the ability to navigate in the main form?

Thank you.

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    I am confused. This is a form/subform arrangement and both forms are bound to the same data? Ordinarily, subforms do not dictate to main form (children don't command parents).

Maybe you should look at the Split form. Sounds like you are trying to emulate a Split form and my experience with this indicates success is doubtful.