Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23
  1. #1
    ngeng4 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    93

    data entry

    i have a form in form view. the user want to just key in the id number n all the data will appear. let say she's on the data with 123 id number, then she want to see the data about 234 id number. so she just want to type the id into the id field and all the data will appear.. how can i do that?

  2. #2
    ManC is offline Novice
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    22
    you may create a button with command button wizard.
    Under Record Navigation, You can create a 'Find Record' button. This will ask you for the id in a pop up.
    I am unsure how to achieve this when you have to type the id ,to be searched, in the id field.
    Maybe someone else can help you with that.
    Sorry!

  3. #3
    ngeng4 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    93
    thank you manC for the help...ive tried for the combo box.. works but not 100% like i want.. still work on it..

  4. #4
    ManC is offline Novice
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    22
    A combo box might be inappropriate if you have a really long list of Ids.
    Else you could create a query, though it will display the result in datasheet view.

  5. #5
    maximus's Avatar
    maximus is offline Expert
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    India
    Posts
    931
    simple Set up I have a table Table6 and a Form Filter. Filter Form Has an option group with two options ID and Class. Select ID Option and Type an ID in the TextBox and Click Load Data. You will see the record pertaining to the ID number has been Filtered. Try the same thing with class. Click Remove Filter to view all data. See the mdb attached.

    Same database or another one. were do you want to put this filter option.

    Mark the thread sovved if this is what you need

    maximus: silverback_bats@yahoo.co.in

  6. #6
    ngeng4 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    93
    maximus, ive tried ur filter form.
    but as you know, this thing i want to add on my project updating form. so if customer want to edit, just type in the id number. ive tried for the combo box. but only the thing from the main form appear. the details in the product and sub cont does not appear. here i attach my db

  7. #7
    ngeng4 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    93
    my db attachment

  8. #8
    maximus's Avatar
    maximus is offline Expert
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    India
    Posts
    931
    hey I look into it I am in office and will be in a meeting say in about 10 min from now hope you don't mind if solution comes a little late.

  9. #9
    ngeng4 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    93
    sure.. i will wait while still playing with the code.. n also go had my lunch.. thank you so muchh

  10. #10
    maximus's Avatar
    maximus is offline Expert
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    India
    Posts
    931

    Data entry Filter

    I am attaching mdb with the fIlter working. Filter option is only available when Form tblProject is opened using Project Maintenance option. A suggestion you have too many in built queries. It is not a good practice to allow users to view data on queries. Users can easily delete data. Developers Principal users cannot be trusted.

  11. #11
    ngeng4 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    93
    the user want to view every each of data. dats y im create every query for it

  12. #12
    ngeng4 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    93
    it didnt work. yes the data did appear. but try to see on the product. it will be the same product from the 1st project...

  13. #13
    maximus's Avatar
    maximus is offline Expert
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    India
    Posts
    931

    Filter

    This is the code attached to OnClick event of Filter Button add the lines made bold and marked in red.


    Private Sub cmd_load_Click()
    On Error GoTo Err_cmd_load_Click
    Dim strSQL As String
    Select Case Me.frmSerach
    Case Is = 1
    strSQL = "SELECT * FROM tblProject WHERE proj_id=" & Me.txt_load & ";"
    Me.RecordSource = strSQL
    DoCmd.Requery "list_prod"
    DoCmd.Requery "list_sub"

    Case Is = 2
    strSQL = "SELECT * FROM tblProject WHERE proj_name=" & "'" & Me.txt_load & "'" & ";"
    Me.RecordSource = strSQL
    DoCmd.Requery "list_prod"
    DoCmd.Requery "list_sub"

    End Select

    Exit_cmd_load_Click:
    Exit Sub

    Err_cmd_load_Click:
    MsgBox Err.Description
    Resume Exit_cmd_load_Click

    End Sub

    Queries are not the solution give me a list of what all the users want to see and let me do something for you.

  14. #14
    maximus's Avatar
    maximus is offline Expert
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    India
    Posts
    931
    This code is attached to remove Filter add the lines made bold and marked in red.


    Private Sub Command93_Click()
    On Error GoTo Err_Command93_Click
    Dim strSQL As String
    strSQL = "SELECT * FROM tblProject ORDER BY Proj_link"
    Me.RecordSource = strSQL
    DoCmd.Requery "list_prod"
    DoCmd.Requery "list_sub"

    Exit_Command93_Click:
    Exit Sub

    Err_Command93_Click:
    MsgBox Err.Description
    Resume Exit_Command93_Click

    End Sub

  15. #15
    ngeng4 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    93
    the list,

    contractor
    client
    architect
    cs
    qs
    product
    sub cont
    type
    status
    year
    project

    thank you..

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Creating data entry form
    By ksukat in forum Forms
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-11-2010, 04:55 PM
  2. Three Questions on Data Entry Using Forms
    By The_Rattlesnake in forum Forms
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-30-2009, 06:04 AM
  3. Subform Data Entry Issue
    By yuriyl in forum Forms
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-14-2009, 08:49 PM
  4. Form Data Entry Problem?
    By corystemp in forum Database Design
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-21-2009, 02:29 PM
  5. Data Entry And Data Recalling
    By GeeDee in forum Access
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-01-2007, 05:20 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums