amkp711 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit

Randomization with dynamic probability

Hello! I am relatively new to access and definitely new to VBA. I am working on a database that will randomly assign records to one of 3 groups. I have code set up to do this with a 1:1:1 probability, but I need it to be more complex than that. I am hoping to set this up for the probability to base off of specific fields in the database (i.e. if the person is over age 60, they will have a higher probability of being assigned to group 3). There are multiple specific guidelines like this to assess the probability on a person by person basis. The code I have so far is as follows:

Public Function Rand(ByVal Low As Long, _
    ByVal High As Long) As Long
    Rand = Int((High - Low + 1) * Rnd) + Low
    End Function
    Private Sub Study_ID_AfterUpdate()
    'Randomization Code
    If IsNull(Me.Randomizer) Then
    Me.Randomizer = Rand(1, 3)
    End If

From reading online, it looks like the best way to do this may be to use cases in the public function, but I am really not sure how to or even if what I have is on the right track. I would really appreciate any help I can get on this as I am sort of crunched for time (it is for work and deadlines are approaching).

Thank you!!!

orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Please provide some sample data and a more thorough description. If you can show a few records (the input) and some records in output, it would help readers to understand your requirement. Readers will respond to issues they understand.

This link may be helpful re Randomize

jas0501 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Not sure what to formula would look like but given 3 groups each person would have a probability of being assigned to the groups.
    So the range would be 0 --> x ---> y ---> z. Group1 0:x , Group2 x:y, and Group3 y:z.
    0 and z can be constant.