mrmmickle1 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013

Change SQL Select Query into SQL Update/Append and/or Delete Query

I have created several queries that give me the results of records that I would like to either add to a table or delete from a table. I messed around with the INSERT INTO syntax and was not able to get it to work for my needs (I believe it will work I am just limited in my knowledge of this method). I was wondering if there was an easy way to do this. I'm fairly new to SQL so any help would be great. I will be using these SQL Queries via VBA code. I do not wish to do this manually in the MS Access Interface.

Query 1
    'This Query Returns Samples in the PendingSamples Table that do Not Exist in TempPS Table ---> These records need to be deleted from the PendingSamples Table
    Code:
    SELECT * FROM PendingSamples
    LEFT JOIN TempPS ON PendingSamples.Chart_Number = TempPS.Chart_Number
    WHERE (((TempPS.Chart_Number) Is Null))
    Query 2
    'This Query Returns Samples in TempPS Table That Do Not Exist In PendingSamples Table ---> These records need to be added to PendingSamples Table
    Code:
    SELECT * FROM TempPS
    LEFT JOIN PendingSamples ON TempPS.Chart_Number = PendingSamples.Chart_Number
    WHERE (((PendingSamples.Chart_Number) Is Null))
    Any help transforming Query 1 into a Delete Query and Query 2 into an Append/Update Query would be much appreciated. Thanks for your time.

John_G is offline VIP
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    Try these:

For query1:

Delete from PendingSamples where PendingSamples.Chart_Number in
    (SELECT PendingSample.Chart_Number FROM PendingSamples
    LEFT JOIN TempPS ON PendingSamples.Chart_Number = TempPS.Chart_Number
    WHERE (((TempPS.Chart_Number) Is Null)))

This uses your original Query1 as a subquery to return the list of records to be deleted, identified by Chart_Number. Note the change in Red to return only one field with the sub-query.

For query2: