LonnieCAR is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Change field to alphanumeric (text) from number type.

I have an existing form where users type in information and it generates a couple of reports. In one of the fields, ‘Customer PO Number,’ the user enters a number from a customer. Up until yesterday all of the customers we have been dealing with have used numbers only for their PO numbers. However, we have a new customer that requires alphanumeric PO’s. Is there a simple way to change this field from a number to alphanumeric without having to redo each form, report and/or query. I’m not that experienced with Access, so you’ll have to walk me through the steps. I am using MS Access 2010 btw. Thanks!

orange is offline Moderator
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Can you explain your business -- how it works with customers and a general " a day in our business" - to help us understand the situation?
    What is special about this customer? You have your own PO and you also record a PO from the Customer? I would think a PO Number may be text because you don't do any arithmetic on PO numbers (similarly with Phone numbers). I would not recommend spaces within field or object names.

I work in the packaging industry. There are 3 companies housed together in the same area, a packaging company, label company and a company that makes shipping components. I work with all three companies. When the packaging company needs labels or shipping materials they tell us their PO# from their customer and we use this to process an order on our end. Recently, we have been getting orders from companies outside of our own and they have been using numbers that have text and number, so the system does not work with them. The gentleman that created the database has passed away and we are trying to make it work while we explore other options. Please advise. Thanks!