munroe47 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2002 (version 10.0)

Query input from open form (case-sensitive input issue)

I am not a programmer, but I use many built-in Access functions/tools to automate my databases. I have queries that derive their input from text boxes in an open form. The user enters search criteria into those text boxes, and the query extracts and uses that input to isolate records matching the criteria. In the query, I use the following syntax in the criteria slot: Like[FORMS]![<Form Name>]![<Text Box Label>]. It works perfectly to isolate the records that fit the search criteria IF the case of the search criteria exactly matches the case of the field contents. I can't find a way to set it up so that the case of the input is irrelevant? Most of the time, I am familiar with the case format of my field contents, but sometimes I have to go back to the table to determine if the field contents were entered as uppercase, lowercase or a combination of both. Even worse, if any data was originally entered inconsistent with the normal format or with a capitalization error, those records are never found! Is there a way that the query can be made to "ignore" the case when matching search criteria to field contents? I really don't want to go back to the tables to check hundreds (in some cases thousands) of records for inconsistent data format!

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    If you don't use the * wildcard with LIKE operator, might as well just use = sign.

LIKE [FORMS]![<Form Name>]![<Text Box Label>] & "*"

or

LIKE "*" & [FORMS]![<Form Name>]![Text Box Label>] & "*"

Upper or lower case is irrelevant in Access by default - "A" = "a". That can be changed but I never have.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Thanks June7