tbalci is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2013

Count data from multiple fields

This is my first post in this forum. Hi everybody!

A quick question. Before I go, I'd like to say that I do not have any VBA experience, second, I'm not experienced in Access. Therefore I will go as simple as I can.

I have a table (say tbl_compsect) that I am keeping the sectors the companies operate in. I have five columns to keep sector information. Users update the company information from a form with comboboxes. Sectors are written with SectorIDs but to ease things, I will go with names. Here is how my table looks like:

CompanyID Sector1 Sector2 Sector3 Sector4 Sector5
    1 Metal Pipe Cable
    2 Auto Pipe Plastics
    3 Mining Petroleum Haulier Auto
    4 Plastics Spares Auto Cable Haulier

I'd like to sum up the sectors in the columns, so that I have the following information to use in the reports/export to Excel (in no particular order for now , but probably will sort by the sum in the future )

Metal:1
    Pipe:2
    Cable: 2
    Auto:3
    Plastics:2
    Mining:1
    Petroleum:1
    Haulier:2

Spares:1

I'd like to know how to do that; to sum information by counting data from multiple fields.

Thank you for all your assistance in advance.

Tolga

JoeM is offline VIP
    Windows XP Access 2007
    This is a perfect example of how working with a de-normalized database makes seemingly easy tasks much harder than the have to be. If your table was a normalized table, this would be very simple (you should not have repeating fields within a table returning the same type of information).

A correct table design for this scenario would only have three fields:
    CompanyID
    SectorNumber
    SectorEntry

Then, you could do a simply Aggregate Query, grouping on the SectorEntry field and counting one of the other fields to get what you want.

Here is a good write-up on relational database design and normalization:
    http://sbuweb.tcu.edu/bjones/20263/A...sDB_Design.pdf