CWC is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Design Advice Needed: Assigning IDs and Avoiding Duplication of Info & Keystrokes

I am a self-taught beginner, so I thank you in advance for your patience!

I am designing a database for a symbolic "adopt an animal" program and have hit a snag.

I have three tables:
    Animal Table with an AnimalID, names, photo

Personal Info Table with a ParentID, name, contact info

Adoption Table with the AdoptionID (PK), animal adopted, date adopted, date shipped, Adoptor ID (ParentID of the Adoptor), Recipient ID (ParentID of the Recipient)

My problem is with the ParentID. I need to input information for both the Adoptor and the Recipient, but I want each individual to have an assigned ID (ParentID) that will be reused for all future adoptions. For example, today John Smith adopts an animal, so he is the Adoptor. Then tomorrow, Sally Sample adopts an animal as a gift for John Smith. Now John Smith is the Recipient.
    I want to be able to run a query for John Smith's ParentID to see his complete Adoptor/Recipient adoption history.

If I had two separate tables, Adoptor and Recipient, John Smith would be in both tables with two different IDs. So I made one Personal Info table to store all personal data with one ParentID for each person. I had the ParentID as an autonumber. In my Adoptor and Recipient subforms, I used a combo box to autofill the individual's data based on the last name, from a query of the fields in the Personal Info Table, which worked for every field except the ParentID, because it's an autonumber.

I need the database to autofill the individual's data, including ParentID, if they've already been entered into the database as either an adoptor or recipient, without adding a new ID every time. If they are not yet in the database, I need to be able to enter new data with a new ParentID auto-generated.