Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    newtoaccess2 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    8

    Stop Form Auto populate

    I have a form that I created for data entry. When entering in data, the form spontaneously decides to auto-populate the rest of the form. I have the fetch defaults property set to No. I have not set any defaults for the data and have not done anything else to make the form auto populate. Oh, I have also tried the form with both the data entry property set at No and Yes; neither work. Access in The data that it is auto-populating is incorrect. I have never had this happen in any of my forms I've created, but I am pretty new to Access in general and very new to Access 2007. How do I get the form to quit auto-populating? Help, Please!!! Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    ranman256's Avatar
    ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    9,525
    try
    in form properties, set FETCH DEFAULTS = NO

  3. #3
    John_G is offline VIP
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Ottawa, ON (area)
    Posts
    2,615
    Does the data that is "auto populated" match data that is in another record in the underlying table? If it does, that suggests that the form is no longer on a new record, but has moved to a new one.


    Is there any code in the data entry form - if so, what does it do?

  4. #4
    newtoaccess2 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    8
    Yup, already tried that.

  5. #5
    newtoaccess2 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    8
    Yes! About half way through entering the second data sheet,but still within the main form, the form autopopulates with data from the previous record. Yes, there is a little code. The code is only to set focus from the last control in the main form and each subform to the subsequent subforms and back to the main form. I am new to this so it could definitely be the code.

    For example in the last control of the main form:
    OtherResources_Exit(Cancel As Integer)
    Forms!frmSiteEvalData!frmSubEnvConditions.SetFocus
    Forms!frmSiteEvalData!frmSubEnvConditions!AirFlow. SetFocus
    End Sub

    The last control in each subform sets focus to the 1st control in the next simple form subform using the above code adjusted for each individual last control and form. I do have 2 continuous forms for which I use the following code to shift focus.

    From subform to 1st continuous subform:


    Private Const conNavKey As String = 9

    Private Sub TempScale_KeyUp(KeyCode As Integer, Shift As Integer)
    If 9 <> conNavKey Then Exit Sub
    If Me.CurrentRecord = Me.RecordsetClone.RecordCount Then
    Forms!frmSiteEvalData!frmSubDataLoggers.SetFocus
    Forms!frmSiteEvalData!frmSubDataLoggers!LoggerLoca tion.SetFocus
    ElseIf Me.NewRecord Then
    Forms!frmSiteEvalData!frmSubDataLoggers.SetFocus
    Forms!frmSiteEvalData!frmSubDataLoggers!LoggerLoca tion.SetFocus
    End If
    End Sub

    And code in the last control of the last continuous form to shift focus back to the main form:

    Private Const conNavKey As String = 9

    Private Sub PortalDistanceUnits_KeyUp(KeyCode As Integer, Shift As Integer)
    If 9 <> conNavKey Then Exit Sub
    If Me.CurrentRecord = Me.RecordsetClone.RecordCount Then
    Forms!frmSiteEvalData!ReVisit.SetFocus
    ElseIf Me.NewRecord Then
    Forms!frmSiteEvalData!ReVisit.SetFocus
    End If
    End Sub


    Any advice you can provide would be fantastic!!

    Thanks!!!

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. How to auto populate a form
    By e51lrrp in forum Forms
    Replies: 42
    Last Post: 03-20-2014, 11:40 PM
  2. Sub Form auto populate
    By keiath in forum Forms
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-14-2014, 02:59 PM
  3. How to auto populate in tex box form
    By kft10 in forum Forms
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-12-2013, 11:47 PM
  4. Auto Populate form
    By fpsmi in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-16-2011, 09:24 AM
  5. Auto populate fields on a form
    By ldarley in forum Forms
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-14-2008, 09:39 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums