Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    aonsu209 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Rotterdam
    Posts
    24

    Four input tables one output

    Dear all,
    I'm having troubles to create single form with following input in the graph below:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Time Form.jpg 
Views:	20 
Size:	132.9 KB 
ID:	18277
    The form looks like this pic
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	time form 1.jpg 
Views:	20 
Size:	61.8 KB 
ID:	18278


    The problem is it is not working Any suggestions how can I make this to work? Where I making mistake?

  2. #2
    ranman256's Avatar
    ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    9,525
    A combo to pick the employee
    A combo to pick the project
    A combo to pick the part (once project is picked)
    box to put in time.

    SAVE button.
    on click, run append query to put data in final table.

  3. #3
    aonsu209 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Rotterdam
    Posts
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by ranman256 View Post
    A combo to pick the employee
    A combo to pick the project
    A combo to pick the part (once project is picked)
    box to put in time.

    SAVE button.
    on click, run append query to put data in final table.
    Like that sounds easy, but I forgot to write that there are some restriction. I want the form to open on specific employee and the employee to fill some of the general input, and some to be there. For example the week to be combobox and the period to appear after update(Dlookup).
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	access123.jpg 
Views:	15 
Size:	93.7 KB 
ID:	18287

    Any other suggestions? I try something like in this video, subform based on many to many relationship, but it didn't work.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ou1zwJunbuA

  4. #4
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,929
    What does 'not working' mean?

    Why use UPDATE query for data entry?

    If data structure is properly designed and form/subform/subsubform properly configured, data entry should be simple. However, the image looks like a type of time and attendance database, one of the most difficult to design IMO.

    Opening a form filtered to an employee and pre-filling fields is easy. But how do you want to determine the employee ID parameter? Select from a combobox on a 'navigation' or 'switchboard' form then open the data form?

    DoCmd.OpenForm "data form name", , , "EmpID = " & Me.comboboxname
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  5. #5
    aonsu209 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Rotterdam
    Posts
    24
    Yes, I will create for each employee a separate form. And thanks for the idea I will do it with append query. When some check "Released" to do up append query. Here is the new flow diagram:Click image for larger version. 

Name:	new flow.jpg 
Views:	13 
Size:	66.9 KB 
ID:	18312


    And now I`m having another problem how to requery combobox in sub subform from the after update in the subform?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	requery.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	161.0 KB 
ID:	18313

  6. #6
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,929
    Create a form for each employee???? Why not one form and filter it?
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  7. #7
    aonsu209 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Rotterdam
    Posts
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by June7 View Post
    Create a form for each employee???? Why not one form and filter it?
    Previous one was in excel and there are shortcuts for each employee's and I want to keep it same. Actually my first idea was one multiple form and on click on the name to popup form with the employee. Any ideas how to requery in sub subform after update in the subform? I try few things like:
    Public Sub RequeryList()

    Dim Combo18 As Control

    ' Return Control object pointing to a combo box.
    Set Combo18 = Forms!Time(SubForm)!Forms!ProjectParts(subsubform) !ReportsTo

    ' Requery source of data for list box.
    Combo18.Requery

    End Sub

  8. #8
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,929
    Don't need the control object variable.

    Where is this code placed?
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  9. #9
    aonsu209 is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Rotterdam
    Posts
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by June7 View Post
    Don't need the control object variable.

    Where is this code placed?
    I placed in the main form. I think I solved it, I set a macro on the combobox itself on change to refresh and seems it is working.
    Thanks for the help.

  10. #10
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,929
    I would use AfterUpdate and/or GotFocus events instead of Change event.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-16-2013, 01:39 AM
  2. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-16-2012, 11:13 AM
  3. Output tables to an excel file on a network drive
    By GraemeG in forum Import/Export Data
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-01-2011, 03:06 PM
  4. Input (storing) output question
    By spacewater in forum Access
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-17-2009, 08:14 AM
  5. Joining Unioins output to tables? Help Needed
    By techexpressinc in forum Queries
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-24-2009, 05:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums