ZachAtaiyan is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Use Values Selected From Combo Box in Form to Run Calculation in Query

Hello,

I have been working in MS Access for the past few weeks, but I have very little experience with queries. Here is what I am trying to do:

I have 3 fields with combo boxes on a form and each combo box has three choices: High, Medium, and Low.

I would like to establish a numerical value with each field depending on what is selected. For instance, High=5, Medium=3, Low=1.

I plan on taking the 3 fields and using the selected values in a calculation that would generate a score and I would like to store this value on a table.

My question for you guys is; is there any information you could send my way that can assist with the development of this?

Here is a picture of what I am reffering to on my form:

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1.PNG 
Views:	14 
Size:	4.5 KB 
ID:	17657

Thanks in advance!

ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Some here may prefer to use a Value List for the combo box in instances like this. My preference is to use tables and have the Combo Boxes Row Sources look to the tables. I would create a table for each of the Combo Boxes/factors, Probability, Severity, etc. Each table would have a column for the description and a column for the Primary Key.

Any idea on how I can assign the numbers based on the ranking selected?

ItsMe is offline Sometimes Helpful
    You could use a bound control as a combo's Control Source. Another option is to use SQL and or DAO to update/append records.

McArthurGDM is offline Competent Performer
    Since you are drawing those combo box values from somewhere, I would draw them from a table and have each table set up like this:

Probability_Table
    1.........................Low

And then do the same for the Severity and Detection tables, etc...