PPCEngineering is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Copy value of primary key on current record

Hello everyone,

First of all, thanks ahead of time to everyone on this board who takes the time to respond to questions from people like me! I couldn't function without you!

I have a fairly run-of-the-mill database which keeps track of my manufacturing work orders, packing slips and routers (work instructions for shop floor workers). Due to my busy schedule, I can only update and modify the database to work better during my free time, when I actually feel like working on it. As such, I am essentially a complete beginner when it comes to Microsoft Access (2010 x64).

What I am trying to accomplish seems so incredibly simple, but I swear I am going to tear all of my hair out if I don't figure it out soon. Right now I manually enter all of the data into a work order, either from a customer purchase order or a verbal order over the phone or by email. The work order is a main form containing customer information with a subform containing one record for each product on the purchase order. These records contain the part number, description, quantity, price, etc. Once I have the work order created, I need to create a router for each product on the work order. This will contain both the customer data AND the product data, and is used as a set of instructions for the workers on the shop floor to create the product. On to the first problem...