Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Sa'El is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007

Refreshing an Open Form Aftera Pop Up/Modal Form is Closed

I have a main form that list all the records and on click opens the detail of a given record via a Modal window form. Through the wizard I've added a delete record button that additionally closes the modal form and returns to the (still opened) form list. I want the main list to be refreshed/requeried when the form is closed, as I see #Deleted.

I'd rather not do some work-around where the form is closed and opened again to get the same result. How would I go about doing it? I am new to VBA, so I can follow code as long as it comes with a little hand-holding. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

RuralGuy is offline Administrator
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013
    OPen the Form with the acDialog argument and then add a Me.Requery on the line after the FormOpen command. It will not execute until the next form is closed or made invisible.

The Open Form was originally a macro, but I decided to go for the VBA route and see if I can make it work, and it did! Thanks a lot RG, but I have a curious question as I want to be more of a programmer about this.

The form is opened via a click on the datasheet portion of a split form (the single-record view is hidden). So I tested the above with one field, it worked, and so from here I can copy and paste the code and then just paste the field name. But I know there's more of a programmatical way of doing it, as all the different fields are executing the same code.

Trying to remember my programming class from like 5 years ago, I'm thinking you may have to declare all possible controls (field names) that will would be clicked and on a given click the program will loop through these controls until it matches the right control and then executes, which in this case is, the open form in acDialog and then add me.requery.