doppleswan is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2013

Question Is Access Right for me? Building Relationship overview from disjointed sources....

Howdy,

Thanks for checking my thread, I hope it is thought provoking, and productive.

First of all, I am new to access. It is available to me at work and I saw a niche that might be helpful to my organization so I started messing around. I have built simple DB's to review some areas but am looking at a larger overall program and don't want to waste my (or my company's) time if there is no need to.

That being said this is the keystone of my issue:

(TL;DR - all of my customer data is kept in separate disassociated systems, should I continue reading simple excel tables with duplicate information and focus on reports, use the imported data to output new tables, or something else?)

I have approximately 1300 clients - some of these clients are related to each other by ownership, but most are not. I would like to build a database that accurately reflects all of these relationships without manually reviewing and inputting the data. Can I link or import excel files that represent the following items (which originate from various disinterested programs), and through any method (which I will whole heartedly dedicate myself to learning) create a DB that accounts for all of these things "as they are now" and properly appends when the source is updated? I have many other reports not listed here I use to validate missing data and look forward to any feedback ye' wise ACCESS GURU"s can provide me.

If you will but lend me your knowledge, I will give you all my gratitude; for any of you who find me worthy of what you are capable of giving shall be rewarded with all that my powers may permit.