DB88 is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 64bit

Searching related records but only want to display primary

Hello,

I'm new to Access so please bear with me. I've built a search form that is bound to a query. Using a VBA code, I filter the query to show only those records that meet the user's criteria. It works great. However, I would like to improve the display. The table, Products has a 1 v Many relationship to Features using the junction table, LI_ProdFea. All three tables are in the query, because users search for products based on their features. If a product has more than one feature then it appears multiple times in the form but I just want it to appear once. More specifically:

The table, Feature has two fields: ID and FeatureName

The table, Product has two field: ID and ProductName
    The table, LI_ProdFea has three fields: ID, kf_Feature and kf_Product
    Product is connect to LI_ProdFea by ID=kf_Product. LI_ProdFea is connected to Feature by kf_Feature=ID

So, for product1 with ID=1, that is waterproof (ID =10) and battery operated (ID=11) there are two records in LI_ProdFea:
    ID kf_Product kf_Feature
    --- ------------ ------------
    1 1 10
    2 1 11

My search form will display product1 twice, once for waterproof and once for batter operated. But I just want to display it once. How do I do that?

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Then you must remove what is repeating...the [FEATURE]
    you get id=1 twice...once for waterproof, once for battery.
    Show only [product] and set query property [unique values] = yes
    to get 1 record.

But if I don't show [Feature] in the query then I can't use it in my filter

June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    All records will display until filtered. No way around that. Why is that an issue?